The Favorite Aunt

Feminism in the Family

Adoption Discrimination Looming

Leave a comment

I’ve always been proud to be a Catholic – and one of the things I appreciate most about the Church and its global reach is its philanthropic roots.

Priests and nuns everywhere help people in need by bringing aid, building hospitals, building schools and teaching. Closer to home – there are Catholic institutions providing the best in higher education and hospitals, and some of the best relief organizations for those in need, whether it’s a shelter, food bank, training programs, or community organizing. I even went to a really great Catholic summer camp and the teen-level National Catholic Youth Conference multiple times.

I’m currently in the process of translating my overwhelming positive feelings about the Church and Natural Family Planning (NFP) into a post, and that there are a large number of Catholic Church run adoption agencies does not escape my notice.

So hearing that there’s a new law-bending bill in the works to make it legal for adoption agencies to openly discriminate against adopting families? I’m livid.

 

I sincerely hope this does not get passed, because it’s plainly seeking to discriminate based on religion, and/or sexuality at the very least. This isn’t what being Catholic and charitable is about – this is using privilege and power structures to hurt those different from you. It does not emulate Jesus’ charity.

The Church isn’t perfect – but it’s better than this.

Author: thefavoriteaunt

One of the most awesome people you will ever meet. Writer. Editor. Feminist. Catholic. Pro-Choice. Supporter of the Marginalized. Fat. She/her. I am my nephews' and nieces' Favorite Aunt.

Leave a comment